Working Through Our Agencies

The Bishops' Conference has a number of commissions and agencies that assist it in carrying out its work ... to promote its work the Conference establishes various agencies, the most important of which are termed Commissions.

Priests, deacons, religious and lay people are included in the membership of these agencies.

The agencies have an advisory function in relation to the Conference; each according to its remit, may also have an executive function; and, between meetings of the Conference, an agency may respond to an immediate problem by taking decisions or issuing statements in its own name.

Communications and Press and Media Relations Office
President: Archbishop Philip Tartaglia
Vice President and Press and Media Relations Officer: Mr Peter Kearney
Contact: Catholic Media Office, 5 St. Vincent Place, Glasgow, G1 2DH
Tel: 0141 221 1168 Fax: 0141 204 2458
 Scottish Catholic Media Office
Parliamentary Office
Parliamentary Officer: Mr Anthony Horan
Contact: 5 South Gray's Close, 40 High Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1TQ
Tel/Fax: 0131 556 6771
Catholic Parliamentary Office
Heritage Commission
President: Bishop Joseph Toal
Secretary: Dr Mary McHugh
Heritage Commission: Archdiocese of Glasgow, 196 Clyde Street, Glasgow, G1 4JY
Tel: 0141 226 5898 Fax: 0141 225 2600

Scottish Catholic Archives

Columba House

16 Drummond Place,

Edinburgh, EH3 6PL

Archivists: Donna Maguire

Tel: 0131 556 3661

Email:  or  



 Scottish Catholic Archives

Catholic Heritage Network of Archives and Libraries of the Catholic Church

Blairs Museum
South Deeside Road, Blairs
AB12 5YQ
Contact  the Museum Curator, Dr Alison Burke
Phone 01224 863767
 Blairs Museum Logo
Ecumenical Reference Group
President: Archbishop Leo Cushley
Secretary: Elizabeth Taite
Contact: Archdiocese of Glasgow, 196 Clyde Street, Glasgow, G1 4JY 
Tel: 0141 226 5898
Committee for Interreligious Dialogue
Chair: Archbishop Mario Conti
Secretary: Sr Isabel Smyth, snd
8 Woodlands Drive
Glasgow G4 9EH
Tel: 0141 339 8174
 Committee for Interreligious Dialogue Logo
Commission for Mission
President: Archbishop Leo Cushley
National Director of Missio Scotland: Fr Tom Welsh
National Director: St. Andrew's, 4 Laird Street, Coatbridge, ML5 3LJ
Tel: 01236 449774  Fax: 01236 428432
Liturgy Commission
President: Bishop Hugh Gilbert
Secretary: Rev. Stephen G. McGrattan
Contact: St John the Evangelist, 92 Glaisnock St, Cumnock, KA18 1JU
Tel: 01290 421031
Secretary of the Committee for Church Music
Rt Rev Mgr Patrick G Fitzpatrick
St. Leo's, 5 Beech Avenue, Glasgow G41 5BY
Tel: 0141 427 0293
Commission for Catholic Education and Scottish Catholic Education Service (SCES)
President: Archbishop Philip Tartaglia
Director of SCES: Barbara Coupar
Contact: 75 Craigpark, Glasgow, G31 2HD
Tel: 0141 556 4727  Fax: 0141 551 8467
SCES Scottish Catholic Education Service
SCIAF (Scottish Catholic International Aid Fund)
President: Bishop Joseph Toal
Director: Alistair Dutton
Contact: 19 Park Circus, Glasgow, G3 6BE
Tel: 0141 354 5555  Fax: 0141 354 5533
Commission for Pastoral and Social Care
and Secretariat for the Pastoral Care of Migrant Workers and Tourists

President: Bishop Joseph Toal
Contact: 274 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JR
Information Line/Fax: 0141 353 1177  Tel: 0141 332 7177
National Commission for Social and Pastoral Care
Apostleship of the Sea
Episcopal Promotor: Bishop Stephen Robson
Contact: Martin Foley, 39 Eccleston Square, London, SW1V 1BX
Tel: 0207 9011931
Apostleship of the Sea
Commission for Justice and Peace
President: Bishop William Nolan
Contact: 65 Bath Street, Glasgow, G2 2BX
Tel/Fax: 0141 333 0238
Justice and Peace Scotland Logo
For information on the Day for Life which is observed annually in Scotland on 31st May, Feast of the Visitation, visit the Website Day for Life
Scottish Catholic Safeguarding Service
(formerly the National Office for the Protection of Children and Vulnerable Adults)

Episcopal Adviser: Bishop Joseph Toal
National Co-ordinator: Tina Campbell
Contact: 274 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4JR
Information Line/Fax: 0141 353 1177  Tel: 0141 332 7177
Scottish Catholic Safeguarding Service
Priests for Scotland
President: Bishop Stephen Robson
National Director: Rev. Andrew McKenzie
Contact: St. Joseph's, 14 Fullarton Avenue, Glasgow G32 8NJ
Tel: 0141 554 6936  Fax: 0141 554 8560
Priests for Scotland
Permanent Diaconate
President: Bishop Stephen Robson
National Director: Rev. Charles Hendry
Contact: 7 Law Crescent, Dundee, DD3 6TN
Catholic Youth Service Scotland
Secretary: Christine Riddoch
Contact: Diocesan Office, Incle Street, Paisley, PA1 1HR 
Tel: 0141 847 6133
Catholic Youth Service Scotland
Scottish Catholic Inter-Diocesan Tribunal
President: Mgr Peter Magee
Contact: 22 Woodrow Road, Glasgow G41 5PN
Tel: 0141 427 3036  Fax: 0141 427 7715
SCID Tribunal
Working With Others

The Bishops' Conference of Scotland participates in a number of National, European and International bodies that foster dialogue in a Catholic, Ecumenical, Interfaith and broader political context.

Council of European Bishops' Conferences (CCEE) 
Commission of Bishops' Conferences of the European Union (COMECE)
Joint Commission of Bishops and Conference of Religious in Scotland
Action of Churches Together in Scotland (ACTS)
Churches Together in Britain and Ireland (CTBI)
Pontifical Mission Societies

Our close neighbours:
The Catholic Church in England and Wales
The Catholic Church in Ireland

Home   Safeguarding   Bishops   Decrees   Our Work   Catholic Scotland   News   Vacancies   Policies   Contact Copyright 2009-2019 © Bishops' Conference of Scotland.
Privacy and Cookies Statement    Terms Of Use - hosting, design and IT solutions